The Digital Saksharta Abhiyan (DISHA) or National Digital Literacy Mission (NDLM)

The Digital Saksharta Abhiyan (DISHA) or National Digital Literacy Mission (NDLM) Scheme has been formulated to impart IT training to 52.5 lakh persons, including Anganwadi and ASHA workers and authorised ration dealers in all the States/UTs across the country so that the non-IT literate citizens are trained to become IT literate so as to enable them to actively and effectively participate in the democratic and developmental process and also enhance their livelihood.
 Altogether 52.5 lakh persons, including Anganwadi and ASHA workers and authorised ration dealers will be trained under the programme in two phases. In the first phase, 10 lakh beneficiaries will be trained under the scheme. Nine lakh beneficiaries will be eligible for training fee support from the government. The rest 100,000 beneficiaries will be trained by the industry and civil society partners.
“Digital Literacy is the ability of individuals and communities to understand and use digital technologies for meaningful actions within life situations”.

Two levels of training under the SCHEME

The two levels of IT training envisaged under the Scheme will have the following broad objectives:

Appreciation of Digital Literacy (Level 1)

To make a person IT literate, so that he/ she can operate digital devices, like mobile phones, tablets, etc., send and receive emails and search Internet for information, etc.

Eligibility Criteria

Level 1 : Non-IT literate - Illiterate and upto 7th standard pass
Age : 14 to 60 years

Course Duration

Level 1 : 20 Hours (Minimum 10 Days and Maximum 30 Days)

Medium of Instruction

Level 1 : Official Languages of India


Level 1 : For SC/ ST/ BPL Households, no training fee payable and for General candidates, course fee of Rs. 125 applicable.

Place of Learning

The eligible households can nominate one person from their family. The selected person to get himself enrolled under this programme in a nearest Training Centre/ Common Service Center (CSC).


Independent external evaluation will be conducted by a National level certifying agency like NIELIT, NIOS, IGNOU, etc.

Each State government and UT administration shall appoint a State Implementing Agency (SIA) to ensure the smooth implementation of the Scheme.
SIAs have the following responsibilities:
-Coordinate with various Government Agencies/ Stakeholders for formation of various State/ District/ Panchayat level committees for monitoring of the scheme.
-Coordinate with various training agencies for actual implementation of the scheme in Blocks.
-Monitor the training of beneficiaries and ensure that online examination is conducted properly of the trained beneficiaries.
1Andaman & NicobarAndman and Nicobar
2AssamAssam Electronics Development Corporation Ltd. (AMTRON)
3BiharBihar Knowledge Society
4KarnatakaCentre for eGovernance
5ChhattisgarhChhattisgarh InfoTech & Biotech Promotion Society (CHiPS)
6Dadra & Nagar HaveliCSCDadar&Nagar
7Daman & DiuDaman and Diu
8SikkimDIT Sikkim
9Gujarate-Gram Vishwagram Society (eGVS)
10TelanganaElectronic Service Delivery (MeeSeva)
11Andhra PradeshElectronic Service Delivery (MeeSeva)
12HaryanaHaryana State Electronics Development Corporation Limited (HARTRON)
13Himachal PradeshHimachal Pradesh
14GoaInfo Tech Corporation of Goa Ltd
15UttarakhandInformation Technology Development Agency (ITDA)
16Jammu & KashmirJammu and Kashmir e-Governance Agency (JaKeGa)
17JharkhandJharkhand Agency for Promotion of Information Technology (JAPIT)
18LakshadweepLakshdweep CSC
19Madhya PradeshMadhya Pradesh State Electronic Development Corporation (MPSEDC)
20ManipurManipur State Information Technology Society
21MeghalayaMeghalaya Information Technology Society (MITS)
22NagalandNagaland State e-Governance Society (NSeGS)
23OdishaOdisha Computer Application Center (OCAC)
24PunjabPUNJAB State e-Governance Society (PSEGS)
25RajasthanRajCOMP Info Services Ltd (RISL)
26MaharashtraRajya SETU Society
27ChandigarhSociety For Promotion of IT in Chandigarh (SPIC)
28Tamil NaduTamil Nadu e-governance Agency (TNeGA)
29Arunachal PradeshTsangla multipurpose Cooperative Society
31West BengalWest Bengal State Rural Development Agency

Post a Comment